Scrumptious Yuca Recipe

20160420_171826(1).jpg

So a few days ago I posted my moms steak recipe served with rice and plantains. Although I love my rice and plantains the best way to eat that steak is with some Yuca! I remember my mom making her steak in sauce with some Yuca and I would eat all the Yuca with the steak sauce. ( My mouth is watering thinking about it)

So I figured how could I post the steak recipe and not give you the absolute best side dish to go with it ! So here goes this easy peasy yuca recipe…please try not to get addicted 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs. frozen yuca
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 Tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Salt & pepper
  • Cilantro for garnish

Directions

  • If you buy frozen yuca it should already be cut into chunks..If buying fresh peel and cut into chunks.
  • Place yuca in a large pot and fill with enough water to cover the yuca
  • Season water with salt and juice of 1 lime
  • Boil for 30 minutes or until fork tender
  • Once Yuca is done heat up a separate pan with oil and add onion & garlic, season with a little salt & saute until onions are soft.
  • Add yuca to the pan with as much or as little cilantro as you like.
  • Saute until golden brown stirring occasionally (make sure it doesn’t burn)
  • Serve immediately  & enjoy ! This is best with moms steak sauce but can be a side dish with just about any meat you like.

Leave a Reply

